Last week, I was invited to a VIP tour of Cub Foods’ largest store, not terribly far from my house. Free food, free childcare and a chance to see my bloggy friends and maybe learn something? Yep, I’m there. (Too bad it was on Ash Wednesday so I couldn’t sample the prime rib!)

Cub’s nutritionist told us about their Nutrition IQ program. An academic medical center evaluated every product Cub carries for nutritional value. If a product passed the tests for saturated fat, sugar and sodium, it qualified for a Nutrion IQ tag next to the price tag on the shelf. Some tags have additional information like “good source of fiber.”

I took a stroll down the cereal aisle last night to see if there were any surprises. Only five of the following cereals had the tags. Can you guess which ones? Go ahead and take a stab at it in the comments. I’ll update this post with the answer tomorrow. Answers at bottom of post.

    Flickr photo from terren in Virginia

  • Cinnamon Life
  • Wheat Chex
  • Rice Krispees
  • Crispix
  • Frosted Mini Wheats
  • Special K (original)
  • Corn Flakes
  • Golden Grahams
  • Raisin Bran
  • Honey Bunches of Oats
  • Total (original)

Over on the granola bars, I didn’t expect too many tags, and I was right. I was surprised though that the one and only brand to get a tag was Quaker Chewy, even the chocolate chip ones. I would have guessed those to be less healthful than the Nature Valley ones.

In the freezers, I was surprised to see that none of the frozen fruit was tagged. I guess it has too much sugar. Yet to me, that would be better for you than a granola bar. So I guess the key to using the system is comparing like items. Even some of the frozen vegetables were untagged. I haven’t figured that one out.

The Nutrition IQ cereals are:

  • Cinnamon Life
  • Wheat Chex
  • Frosted Mini Wheats
  • Golden Grahams (how can this be right? I’m going to check it again. Maybe it was in the wrong place.) Nope, this really is right. I’m still baffled.
  • Total (original)
