I’ve decided what I am going to give up for Lent. Procrastination.

Uh, what?

Yep, I know that’s what you’re thinking. When the idea struck me (like lightening), my inner self thought: You are The Recovering Procrastinator. Haven’t you been trying to give up procrastination for at least two years? Isn’t that why you started this blog in the first place?

Well, self and readers, yes and no. Yes, that is why I started this blog: to chronicle my efforts to stop procrastinating, to share my success and laugh over my failures. But the focus has been lost, leaving me unable to give a good answer when someone asks what I blog about.

And what’s worse, the focus on fighting procrastination has been lost in my life, especially since losing my job in July. Why? Lack of (or reduction of) structure, social contact, purpose and money just does that to a person, especially a person prone to depression. If you feel you have no reason to get things done and no timeframe in which to do them, you just stop doing them. And being home all day with my kids, though I love them to bits, is emotionally and intellectually draining, sometimes leaving me curled in fetal position unable to even brush my teeth. I’m exaggerating. A little.

So, you’ll hear a lot more in the coming weeks about what I procrastinate on, why I procrastinate, the consequences of procrastinating and, I hope, the things I no longer procrastinate on.

To kick it all off, here is a sampling of things big and small, in no particular order, that I have not been doing in a timely fashion lately:

  • Getting out of bed
  • Getting dressed and ready for the day
  • Preparing meals
  • Housework
  • Leaving the house when it’s time to go somewhere
  • Making phone calls
  • Paying bills (thank goodness for online autopay)
  • Figuring out what I am going to do as a career and finding a way to make it happen
  • Replying to emails and others’ blog posts
  • Finishing my database of grocery store prices
  • Scrapbooking
  • Mailing things
  • Making doctor appointments for myself and the offspring

As I make progress (or even attempt it), you WILL be hearing about. So, what would you like to read about first? And if you have tips or personal stories to share about how you kicked procrastination in general or regarding specific “action items,” I’m all ears. Or I guess eyes in this case.

