Lots of heavy topics lately, eh? How about some Friday Fun? Here are some cute kid stories.

Grace: I want to put on Mommy stuff again. (that would be makeup)
Me: Not today.
Grace: But then I won’t be pretty.
Me: Yes you will.
Grace: I’ll just be half pretty. And I want to be whole pretty.
(I still worry that she really thinks she needs makeup to be pretty but I’m pretty sure she’s just being silly. I hope.)

*****

I was burping Eleanor, without having put my clothes back in order after nursing her. Connor says, “Mom, you didn’t put your milk away.”

*****

Tiles keep falling off our tub deck. I said “What are we going to do about this?” Grace’s solution: “Move out so they don’t bother us.”

*****

Grace was wearing black tights and a black dress. When I tried to put brown shoes on her, she refused, saying “Brown doesn’t go with black stuff!” A fashion expert at 5.

*****

Connor, pretending to be driving a car: I’m going to China.
Me: You don’t want to go to China. There are monsters there. (The kids always say that there are monsters in China. I don’t know why.)
Connor: Yes, I do. I like monsters.
Me: You do?
Connor: Yeah, they drive cars.
… pause …
Connor: Let’s go somewhere else now. How about Athica? Are there monsters in Athica?
Me: Africa? No, there are no monsters in Africa.
Connor: There animals in Athica?
Me: Yes, there are lots of animals there.
We then spent a half hour playing with his toy animals.

*****

Just when I am ready to give Connor away, he usually does something cute. The other day he says, “I have to go poop” and starts walking to the bathroom. Then he stops, waves and says “see you soon.” Of course, he spent only a few seconds in the bathroom and didn’t poop until hours later. He is starting to do that on his own in the toilet though. The looooong potty training process might be nearly over.

*****

Want more? Check out my past “kids say the darndest things” moments.

