Mark bought me a Keuring coffee machine for Mother’s Day. Lately, I’ve been on a quest for the perfect a morning treat, rather than just a boring cup of coffee.

First I tried this DIY pumpkin spice latte. It was a lot of work and didn’t taste any different than just buying the pumpkin spice flavored coffee, as the whole milk foaming thing didn’t work for me. Mark and I both whisked till we got tired, to no avail. (The comments on that post contain lots of hints for this and other Starbucks facsimiles so check them out if you are interested in trying this.)

Recently, the same blog had an easier way to make steamed, foamed milk. I tried that out today and added it to the pumpkin spice coffee I got for my birthday. It was super duper easy and I think would have worked if I had a proper container. I didn’t have any tall-ish, microwavable containers with a lid. So I shook it in one container, then transfered it to do the microwaving. I lost a lot of the foam in the transfer. I plan to find a jar with lid and try it again.
In either case, the treat was screaming for some fresh whipped cream. I did make some the first time around but it takes long to whip then to enjoy, thus negating the treat of it. I don’t suppose you can buy real whipped cream, already whipped can you? If so, how long does it last?
While I was laboring over my disappointing latte, Mark came up with this fun treat for the kids: banana slices in vanilla wafers. They loved it. I even ate some, and I don’t like bananas.

I got both of the coffee links from Amy’s Notebook, which runs every Thursday. Lots of fun ideas from around the blogosphere.

