Mark and I took the kiddos to their first real movie today. Shrek 3 was showing as part of the Regal Cinema’s Free Family Film Festival.Both kids love Shrek 2 and I though a free showingwould be a good time to test Connor’s ability to sit it through awhole movie.

The theater (in Eagan) has arm rests that push up out of the way,which was nice for squirmy kids. The four of us used three seats, andthe kids sat together part of the time, rested their heads in our lapspart of the time, etc, without disturbing anyone else. Also, we sat atthe break between the lower and upper sections, and because Connor’shead doesn’t come up past the seats in front of us, he was able to walkaround a tiny bit.

He did seem to be getting restless halfway through, and Mark lookedover with puppy dog eyes and mouthed “I’m hungry” so I forked over thewallet. Not sure what the GIANT popcorn (that the kids nearly polishedoff) and the nachos cost but I’m sure this didn’t turn out to be aseconomical an outing as I expected. But we all enjoyed the movie andenjoyed seeing it together, so it was well worth it.

Other Twin Cities theaters have cheap or free morning movies for kids this summer:
Lakeville 21
Kerasotes (Coon Rapids, Inver Grove Heights, Minneapolis)
Marcus Theaters (Oakdale, Elk River, Hastings, Rosemount, Shakopee)

I’m betting there are more. Anyone know of any?

