I tackled two 30b430 items this week. My friend Lauren and I baked bread using the master recipe in Artisan Bread in Five Minutes. It was all very easy, but our dough came out too dry so the final product is a bit tough. We used whole wheat flour instead of white but having read about the different types of flours, I thought that would be fine. We also half-ed the recipe. We are going to try again without deviating at all. I also want to try the English muffins. Grace had a lot of fun helping bake the bread, although one bite determined that she didn’t like it. Here are pictures of before and after baking:

We also made apple butter in the crock pot. The consistency came out wonderful but the flavor wasn’t quite as strong as I’d like. I’ve seen MANY different recipes so I’m going to try a different one next time.

And, I used a Sneaky Chef recipe to make hamburgers for the fam last night. I put a puree of spinach, broccoli and peas in it. Mark said he could taste the peas but that it wasn’t too bad. Grace at a whole burger without complaint so I guess she didn’t notice. (She also gobbled up a 1-to-1 mix of mashed potatoes and mashed cauliflower that I made last week.)

