Journey Inn is an eco-retreat on 66 acres of prairie, hilly woodland with a spring-fed creek outside tiny Maiden Rock. I discovered it on a travel green Wisconsin Web site and wanted to go immediately. I put it on my listof 30 things to do before turning 30.

Mark and I each got a massage from the owner who is a massage therapist. (The other is a psychologist/life coach.) We read the books we brought while the other was getting massaged. The therapist, who specializes in energy work, found and cleared an “energy blockage” in my kidneys. I have no idea how this works or if it works but I find the idea intrigueing.

We were the only ones at the B&B because it was a weekday. It was so peaceful and relaxing. We spent a lot of time sitting in the main room by the wood stove, eating the organic snacks provided and playing Scrabble and Scattergories (Mark won both!).

We also went snowshoeing through the woods nearby, climbing down a small hill, over the frozen creek bed, through thick trees and on undisturbed but crunchy snow.

We stayed in the fire room. Like all the rooms, it had a comfy bed, big shower, private balcony (that it was too cold to use) and heated floors. We hope to go back and stay in the fire room again during a different season.

We had lunch at Liberty’s in Red Wing on the way home because all the small town eateries were closed.

