Yep, decafalon.

The Washington Post’s Style Invitational  asked readers many years ago to take any word from the dictionary, alter it by adding, subtracting or changing one letter, and supply a new definition. One winner was decafalon: The grueling event of getting through the day consuming only things that are good for you.

I’ve been educating myself more and more about nutrition. (I’m certainly no expert as I started from basically zero.) I learned some interesting things from Eat This, Not That for Kids. Now I’m interested in checking out the adult version. The books are based on a regular feature in Men’s Health.

Quick quiz. Tell me (in the comments) which is better (or less bad) for you:
1. Turkey burger or 7-oz sirloin steak
2. 1 oz cheddar cheese with Triscuits or granola bar
3. Bran muffin or ham, egg and cheese on an English muffin
4. Dannon Light & Fit Strawberry Banana Smoothie or Stonyfield Farm Organic Wild Berry Smoothie
5. Glazed donut from Dunkin Donuts or Krispy Kreme

That’s the book in a nutshell. It takes common foods and gives you a healthful “upgrade.” I want to work on doing that sort of thing. I’m entering all my food at SparkPeople.com, which tracks not only fat, calories, etc., but also any nutrients you want it to, like calcium, iron and protein.

And I want to cut artificial food coloring from our family’s diet. It can cause headaches and behavior issues, including some that Grace has.

I’ve also been thinking about eliminating caffeine from my diet. But Ido enjoy a nice mocha steamer or pumpkin latte every now and then. Sothat might be a no-go.

So the healthful eating quest begins. Wish me (us) luck.

