Here’s a report of my first try at the Drug Store Game, which I learned about from my friend Lucrecia.

I bought:
One tube of Crest for $2.49, minus a $1 coupons, with a $1.50 rebate = -.01
Two small bottles of Dawn for $1.76, minus two 50 cents coupons = 0.76
Two small tube of Colgate for $5.98, minus a $1.50 coupon and a $1 coupon, with a $4 rebate = 0.48
One bottle of Kids Advil for $5.79, minus a $1 coupon, with a $5.79 rebate = -1.00
One Oral B toothbrush for $2.49, minus a $1 coupon, with a $1.50 rebate = -0.01

Then I had a coupon for $2 off a $10 purchase. So I got $18.51 worth of products for free, plus and extra $1.78 in rebates.

The only thing I actually needed was the Colgate so the rest is going to the food shelf, along with two boxes of instant oatmeal I got for free today at Cub (they were buy 1, get 2 free).

I later went to a second CVS and got (not pictured):

Two bottles of Pert Plus for $3.69 (buy 1, get 1 free), minus two $2 coupons = -.31
Four sticks of Sure for $5.88 (also buy 1, get 1), minus three $1 coupons = $2.88
Two folders for $.50 (half price)
Two 5-subject notebooks for $4.99 (buy 1, get 1)
Glue sticks for $.99 (regular $1.79)
And again, a coupon for $2 off the total purchase.

So, $32.92 worth of products for $8.07. And I have a mail-in rebate for $5 off the school supplies (from this week’s ads). I probably spent about $1.50 in gas going out of my way. So all that for about $4, less than the cost of one of the notebooks. I will keep one deodorant and the school supplies, and the food shelf will get the two shampoos and other three deodorants.

I based my choices on posts by Erin at Coupon Cravings, Gina at Mommy Making Money, and Alyssa at Keeping the Kingdom First. Check them out if you’re interesting in trying the game. They also tipped me off to a few Internet coupons, including the $2 off one. The remainder of my coupons were from this month’s Procter and Gamble ad.

