I’ve been feeling weary lately. I guess that’s why I haven’t written much. It’s a weird feeling. I’m not upset or sad or physically tired, just weary. But starting today I’m going to actively fight it. I have learned that the best way to change your mood is to really think about what’s causing it and change it. I haven’t been doing that much. So, here are just a few things that make me weary, and what I’m going to do about it:

1. Grace refusing to eat anything healthful.
2. Never-ending bedtimes.
3. Clutter.
4. Toilets that don’t come clean no matter how much I scrub.
5. Constant noise.
6. People not following through on plans or promises.

1. Not too sure. We’ve tried lots of things. I guess I’m just going to “accept the things I can’t change” and hope she grows out of it. I’ll keep offering her healthful foods and just try not to get frustrated when she refuses them.
2. This has gotten so much better since they began sharing a room. And luckily (for me, not Mark) I only have to deal with it twice a week. Again, I just need to accept it and remember that some day, the kids won’t want me to rock them and read to them so I should enjoy it rather than dread it.
3. I’ve been continuously decluttering since we moved here and the house is almost free of anything we don’t use/need/love. But a lot of stuff that has been culled from the house is just hanging out in the garage. A lot of it will be cleared out when my sister and I have a garage sale next month. But there still will be a lot of furniture, collectibles and other things we are holding on to because they’ll be room for them in our next house. I’ve thought about getting a storage unit for these so I can walk through the garage, pull out a stroller, throw away garbage and get to tools, garden supplies, etc., without cursing. But I just can’t justify the cost so maybe after the garage sale, I’ll just have to try to better organize the chaos.
4. I can however justify the cost of a monthly visit from a housekeeper. I’ve decided this week to go ahead and splurge on that. I have found one that is VERY reasonably priced and will do all the chores I never seem to get to or never seem to do very well. I haven’t set up when they’ll come yet but I’m looking forward to that treat.
5. Last night, after the kids were in bed, Mark did his homework and I read, with the TV OFF. It was wonderful. We’ve had the TV off now for four hours. Again, wonderful. I wouldn’t mind getting rid of cable so we’re less tempted to watch but I think other family members might freak out. So I’m just going to keep working at having the TV off more often.
6. I’m struggling with this one. I don’t like to be indebted to people but know I need to for the mental health of my whole family! Mark and I had three days this school session when our schedules overlapped. Our friends Joe and Megan volunteered to watch the kids and I’m so grateful. It’s easy to depend on them because I know they’ll follow through. But we have had other people offer to watch the kids, or come over for a playdate, or other such thing that will be helpful to us and then not follow through. I don’t know if I should just say no thanks so none of us are disappointed (Grace hates uncertainty and changes in plans as much as I do) or if I should hold their feet to the fire a little more, pushing them to confirm details rather than waiting for them to decide on them. It seems rude to be pushy when they’re offering a favor though.That was much longer than I expected. But it felt good to write something again!

