It’s free, so recycling event draws throngs
Waiting a little, or waiting a whole lot, Twin Citians queue up to dump unused electronics
By Julio Ojeda-Zapata
Pioneer Press
Would you wait in line for hours to discard your obsolete television or outdated computer?
If you were at the State Fairgrounds on Friday, you may have done just that. A drop-off-your-old-electronics drive at locations across the metro area — billed as the largest in Twin Cities history — often turned into a traffic jam of frustrating proportions.
rest of story from today’s Pioneer Press

Well, I was one of those thousands of people that filled up 80 semis at the fairgrounds yesterday. After all, I never pass up something free, and my garbage/recycling company wanted $45 to pick up the two things I need to ditch.

I waited for about a half-hour on Snelling, having made the mistake of driving north from 94, like everyone else in the entire city, rather than going up to Larpenteur and coming south on Snelling. Once inside the fairgrounds, it took about 20 minutes to get to a drop-off point (getting nervous every time I was flagged to pass one by) and out the main gates.

I dropped off an old laptop and printer of mine and an old monitor, printer and cell phone belonging to a friend. I found out later in the evening that my dad got through in 10 minutes about an hour later. What luck!

The kids were both excellent in the car despite having only a bottle of water and bag of yogurt pretzels we picked up while exchanging some things at Menard’s before hand. I really need to get back in the habit of having an always-stocked diaper bag and taking it with us when we head out, even for short trips.

We picked up a few things at Mississippi Market co-op, on Selby and Dale, on the way home. Grace likes to go there because she can push a little kid-size cart. And because I go there expecting to splurge, she gets a little bit of say in what we buy, unlike at the regular grocery store. She also thinks it’s fun filling up our containers from the bulk tanks. I don’t let her help much because it’s messy but she puts the caps back on. Yesterday we got soap, laundry detergent and moisturizer.

Today I learned that Dakota County (along with Washington and Hennepin) recycle electronics free for residents all the time at a few locations. Information about Twin Cities electronics recycling options, including the free ones for residents of those three counties, is listed here. Many companies and a couple of stores also have recycling programs (not just in the Twin Cities). It’s not listed on that link, but Ikea also recycles alkaline batteries and lightbulbs, both CFLs and regular. So, there’s my public service announcement for the day.

