The weekend got off to a rough start. It took us a long time to get to the hotel through rush hour traffic, including an accident on 694. By the time we got there, I was starving, which made my head and everything else hurt. We ordered room service pizza — the most awful food I’ve eaten in a very long time.

When the Skorrs arrived, everyone went to the pool except Connor and I. I put him to bed in the Skorrs’ room and hung out next door in our room waiting for the Twites, who arrived about a half hour later. Things were looking up. But when everyone returned from the pool, Connor woke up and we had a very hard time getting him back to sleep. And Eve wasn’t too keen on sleeping in a pack and play either. The big girls (Grace and Brianna) and little Jack went to sleep easily but those one-year-olds through our plan of board games after bedtime out the window. Also my flu symptoms, which I’d been battling on and off since Tuesday, were back in full force by about 9 p.m. and I just wanted to be put out of my misery. Connor was fussy throughout the night and Mark was up with him for most of it.

Luckily, Saturday was much better. I woke up feeling well and Mark made us all pancakes. Then we all headed to the pool. It had something for all ages. I was a little worried there wouldn’t be anything age-appropriate for the 3-year-olds but there were two slides that were great for them and one for even younger kids. And it was shallow enough for Bigboy to sit in the water, after a little coaxing.

After lunch, Gillian, Mandy and I spent three hours sitting in (and then next to) the hot tub chatting while Kyle, Andy and Mark played cribbage in the room and the kids (except Grace) took turns napping. Saturday night started out promising, with all three babies asleep and the girls watching a movie. But we only got in one game of cribbage before that came to a crashing halt. Connor woke up and then Grace didn’t want to sleep in the Skorrs’ room again for some reason. We got them both settled down (Grace in bed with me) by about 10 and asleep (after moving Grace to the floor) a little after 11. We never did play any games.

After showers and a leisurely breakfast of fruit and granola parfaits and bacon, we packed up. We went to Mass at the Cathedral and everyone else hit Underwater Adventures and then drove back to Wisconsin. After unpacking at home, I went to work. It would have been nice to stay home but because we had cleaned most of the house Friday and unpacked most of our things as soon as we got home, I wasn’t sitting at work thinking about all the things that need to be done at home. So that was a nice end to the weekend. Oh, and then I came home and Mark and I watched my favorite show, Supernatural.

