If I got nothing done all day but read a good book, it would be a good day. Well, except for the fact that I’d have to bind and gag that nagging person in my head that says “you didn’t get anything done today.”

I’ve been keeping a list of books to read for as long as I can remember. And I haven’t read a book off of it in as long as I can remember. I have this list on paper somewhere. But more and more I find paper so 20th century 😉 so I started keeping a list in my Google Documents a couple of months ago. Here it is, in the order I added the books:

The Handmaid’s Tale
The Story of a Soul
Jesus of Nazareth
Everything Is Miscellaneous: The Power of the New Digital Disorder
An Inconvenient Truth
“Not so big” books by Sarah Susanka
The Lives They Left Behind
Tony Hillerman mysteries
Creating Minnesota: A History from the Inside Out
How the Irish Became White
The Dirt on Clean: An Unsanitized History

I have been whining inside my head lately that I never have (or make) time to read, as evidenced by this not likely to ever shrink list and the collection of Time magazines threatening to overtake my nightstand drawer. But this isn’t really true because I read the newspaper every day (even when not at work) and I read lots of blogs, articles, essays and more by way of Google Reader (possibly the most wonderful thing Google has invented, and that’s saying a lot).

I generally read all these online treasures at work while waiting for the next work-related task to arrive, so I don’t have the opportunity to share or discuss all the fun things I read. Well now I’m sharing them with you. On the right side of my blog, below the t0-do list is a feed of items that I have “shared” through Reader. This is supposed to automatically update every time I hit the “share” button in Reader. Amazing! Without a magic wand, even. Here’s hoping it actually works. If you see something in there that interests you and you want to chat about, I’m always just an e-mail away.

