I came across a list of things that Inver Grove Heights recycles a while ago. It did not include boxboard (boxes from cereal, pop, crackers, etc). I always have a lot of that in my recycling so I vowed to get to the bottom of this some day. Yesterday, I did some poking around online and found my answer. IGH doesn’t have consolidated recycling like St. Paul. Each garbage hauler sets its own rules. So I don’t know why the city even has rules on it’s Web site.

Our hauler, Troje, has partnered with Eureka, which does St. Paul’s recycling, which means we can recycle everything St. Paul does — which includes box board and also now includes wax-paper cartons from milk and juice. The Troje list includes “butter and dairy” containers, while Eureka’s specifically prohibits them. Some day I might call to investigate the discrepancy and see if this includes yogurt containers, which we toss a lot of. (Their Web site doesn’t list an e-mail address or I would have done it last night.) Neither city allows egg cartons, which I’ve always put in with my recycling. I guess I’ll have to start throwing them away. I wonder if any local farmers who sell their eggs would want them.

I also discovered that in St. Paul, the recycling company picks up clothing and household linens for charity. And our company as an appliance and electronics recycling program and also picks up yard scraps to compost. Interesting stuff. Some links if you’re interested in knowing more:
Troje’s rules: http://www.trojestrash.com/recycling.html
Eureka’s rules: http://www.eurekarecycling.org/rec_curbsort.cfm#bc

My search also turned up a place to buy a compost bin, which I’d unsuccessfully looked for before. I plan to ask our association if we can put one out in the wooded buffer area at the end of our property. If you’re interested, here’s where to get them throughout the metro area. http://www.eurekarecycling.org/pdfs/WheretoBuyCompostBins.pdf

I also did one better than recycling yesterday. I went to the co-op and bought a bunch of things in bulk, refilling containers that would otherwise have been recycled. I got shampoo, laundry detergent, olive oil and real maple syrup.

