No, that title is not a metaphor. I have taken up running. OK, it’s more like a slow jog at this point, alternated with walking.

A bunch of my blog friends and a bunch my “AQ sisters,” who I met online when pregnant with Grace, decided just a week apart to do the Couch to 5K program. It’s a nine-week program in which you gradually run/jog more and walk less.

I completed the first week (three 20-minute workouts) on Saturday.

I am proud not only that I did the whole week but that I was so motivated to do it that I packed running shoes and clothes and went out for the third workout on the morning of my brother-in-law’s wedding.

You can download a file of music with a voiceover telling you when to switch between walking and running. I haven’t figured that part out yet, as I am mp3 illiterate so I have just been carrying my phone and timing it with the clock. It’s not a super accurate way to do it, so this week’s goal is to figure out how to get the file onto my phone or Grace’s mp3 player (if I can find it.)

